



RECIPIENT RECOGNITION AT SAFETY AWARDS LUNCHEON SEPTEMBER 27, 2018 OUR LEADERSHIP

2018 NATIONAL BOARD

Scott Gipson
Gipson Steel, Inc.
Steven Staub
JESCO, Inc.
Kevin Payne
F. L. Crane & Sons, Inc.

#### 2018 OFFICERS

**Scott Gipson** Gipson Steel, Inc. Steven Staub Chairman Elect JESCO Inc. **Dupree Petty** Vice Chairman Copeland & Johns, Inc. Fred Tull Secretary Tull Brothers, Inc. **Larry May** Treasurer Carr, Riggs & Ingram, LLC Kevin Payne Past Chairman F. L. Crane & Sons. Inc.

#### 2018 COMMITTEE CHAIRMEN

Education Tom Wagner Wagner Consulting Group **Young Professionals** Cody Bailey Brunini Law Firm **Government Affairs** Jason McNeel CraftCroswell Safety Mark Wilcut JESCO, Inc. Investment Billy Painter Alliant Insurance Services, Inc. **Member Services** Rvan Springer Brasfield & Gorrie, LLC

### 2018 BOARD OF DIRECTORS

NORTH REGION
Quinn Brislin
Brislin, Inc.
Ty Crane
F.L. Crane & Sons, Inc.
Mark Jarrett
B & B Concrete Co., Inc.
Jim McNeer
Kenneth R. Thompson

CENTRAL REGION
Tommy Alford
J.L. Roberts Mechanical
Matt Harrell
Probity Contracting
Donnie Massey
D & H Construction
Nicholas Upchurch
Ivey Mechanical

SOUTH REGION
Gina Creel
Roy Anderson Corp.
Andrew Lester
MMC Materials, Inc.
John Orepesa
Orocon Construction, LLC
Matt Pace
Codaray Construction, LLC

Lee Nations
President/CEO



Dear Fellow Members,

This letter is intended for executives and decision makers from each of our ABC Mississippi member companies. The purpose of this letter is to draw attention to your "Safety Professional". As owners, we tend to focus on the bottom line and the many challenges associated with operating a construction business. Sometimes we miss the opportunity to give positive reinforcement to the people who are doing excellent work for our companies. I am writing about your Safety Professional and the value this person brings to your company.

Please take the opportunity to recognize this person by nominating him or her for the 2018 ABC Mississippi Safety Professional of the Year award. Enclosed you will find nomination instructions for this award. This is a very prestigious award within ABC Mississippi. It is also highly regarded nationwide as Mississippi is one of the largest ABC chapters. Applications will only be considered from ABC Mississippi member companies that have also applied for an ABC Mississippi Chapter Safety Award.

Recognition and presentation of this award will be at the **ABC Mississippi Chapter Safety Awards Luncheon** on Thursday, September 27 at the Rickhouse by The Manship. In addition to great food, good fellowship and an excellent speaker, the luncheon will showcase the high level of achievement in construction safety of our ABC Mississippi member companies. This luncheon event will culminate with the announcement of the "Safety Professional of the Year" award. Please save the date for this event. A separate invitation will be mailed for the luncheon directing you to register online to attend.

Nominations will be reviewed and judged by the 2018 ABC Mississippi Safety Committee. You will find the Safety Committee members listed in the Chapter Safety Awards application. The committee is available to assist you in any way possible in the submission of your application. **The deadline for these nominations is Wednesday, August 22, 2018.** Nominations received after this date will not be considered.

Thank you for the opportunity to serve as chairman of the 2018 ABC Mississippi Safety Committee. I am fortunate to be associated with a group of professionals whose ultimate goal is to provide the highest quality safety information, programs and training to our members.

Sincerely,

Male Willatt

Mark Willcut Chairman, 2018 ABC Mississippi Safety Committee JESCO

## **ABC MISSISSIPPI**

2018 SAFETY PROFESSIONAL OF THE YEAR

## APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS

Below are the application instructions for the ABC Mississippi Safety Professional of the Year Award for 2018. This award is open to any individual with direct responsibility for the safety, health, and compliance for his/her organization, and who has shown exemplary achievement, performance, and commitment towards the safety and well-being, safety culture, and fellow employees of his/her organization.

### **QUALIFICATION CRITERIA**

- This person's primary job function being the Safety Professional of the company.
- This person also must to be employed by a member of ABC Mississippi.
- Only member companies who have made application to the ABC Mississippi Chapter Safety Awards Program are eligible to submit an application for the "Safety Professional of the Year" award.

### **APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS**

The application narrative should be in a Microsoft Word or PDF format and it should include the following.

- Nominee's name, title, company name and tenure with the company.
- A detailed description as to why the respective nominee should be selected for this award.
- Supporting documentation, such as safety inspection frequency, company milestones, professional designations, and community involvement, is welcomed **but not required**.
- Any current accomplishments are welcomed, but criteria includes the nominee's entire tenure with your company.
- What sets him/her above a routine Safety Professional's expected performance?
- List any programs that have been created by the Safety Professional that are possibly cutting edge for the Company or the industry.
- List any items that have changed the safety climate of the Company or the Industry.
- List any challenges that were overcome inside the Company that the Safety Professional conquered.
- Describe a particular incident that the Safety Professional had an impact on for which they should receive recognition.

It is important to submit supporting documentation with the application. All applications will be reviewed and judged by the 2018 ABC Mississippi Safety Committee. A Safety Committee Member that is nominated will not participate in the judging. Any nominee that was previously nominated but not selected may re-submit.

The 2018 Safety Professional of the Year will be awarded using data that was accumulated for and accomplishments that occurred during their tenure with the company, not just for 2017.

The Safety Professional of the Year Award will be presented at the Safety Awards Luncheon on the afternoon of Thursday, September 27, 2018, at the Rickhouse by The Manship. The luncheon hours are from 12:00 noon until 3:00 pm. The deadline for receiving nominations is Wednesday, August 22, 2018.

All applications should be submitted by August 22, 2018 to:

ABC Mississippi Attn: Sherry Dunlap, Safety Director 5165 Old Brandon Road Pearl, Mississippi 39208

### **QUESTIONS?**

Contact Sherry Dunlap at sherry@abcmississippi.org or 601.944.0421.

# **ABC MISSISSIPPI**

SAFETY PROFESSIONALS OF THE YEAR 2011-2017

2017
RICHARD RADER
ROY ANDERSON CORP

2016

JAMES MOORE BROWN

JESCO, INC.

2015
RUSSELL RAMSEY
UPCHURCH PLUMBING, INC.

2014
CHRISTEE HOLBROOK
GRAHAM ROOFING, INC.

2013
MARK ALVAREZ
WHITE CONSTRUCTION COMPANY

2012 MARK WILLCUTT JESCO, INC.

2011
COATNEY TUCKER
METRO MECHANICAL, INC.